The meeting will be streamed online and available to anyone who completes prior registration. If you wish to join the meeting, please register from the Registration button.

Meeting Outline

On September 26, 2022, the Asia Green Growth Partnership Ministerial Meeting will be held under the auspices of the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. The meeting will be attended by ministers and representatives of international organizations from Asia and Middle Eastern countries and other relevant countries.


Vision of AGGPM

This meeting will deepen the discussion on the importance of a balanced energy transition that achieves sustainable economic growth, climate change countermeasures, and energy security in the context of the drastically changing global energy situation.
We will also present the steady progress of various public and private sector initiatives based on the "Asian Energy Transition Initiative (AETI)" announced last year, as well as new support measures and projects to accelerate the AETI.

1 Draw own pathways of Asian nations
for the Paris Agreement's goals

  • Green growth
    as a common goal
  • Various pathways
    to the common target
  • Overcoming challenges
    through partnerships

2 Promote "Energy Transitions"
that balance the economy and the environment

  • Balance of 3E (Energy Security, Economic Efficiency, Environment)
  • Providing engagement that
    leaves no country behind
  • Support and
    dissemination of innovation


Part 1: Ministerial Round Table (16:00-18:00)

Welcome Keynote Speech

H.E. Mr. NISHIMURA Yasutoshi
H.E. Mr. NISHIMURA Yasutoshi
Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

Ministerial Speeches (5mins each)

H.E. Dr. Mohammed bin Mubarak bin Daina
Minister of Oil and Environment
H.E. Mr. Nasrul Hamid
State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources
Pehin Datu Lailaraja Major General (Retired) Dato Paduka Seri Haji Awang Halbi bin Haji Md Yussof
Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office
H.E. Dr. Ty Norin
Secretary of State, Ministry of Mines and Energy
Mr. Frank Des Rosiers
Assistant Deputy Minister and co-chair for the Canada-Japan Energy Policy Dialogue (CJEPD)
H.E. Arifin Tasrif
Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources
H.E. Mr. Javad Owji
Minister of Petroleum
H.E. Dr. Mohammed Al Faris
Deputy Prime Minister of Oil, Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs and Minister of State of the National Assembly Affairs
H.E. Dr. Sinava Souphanouvong
Deputy Minister of Energy and Mines
Y.B.Dato’Sri Mustapa bin Mohamed
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy)
H.E. Tengku Mohammad Taufik
President and Group CEO of Petronas
H.E. Eng. Salim bin Nasser bin Said Al-Aufi
Minister of Energy and Minerals
H.E. Mr. Khurram Dastgir Khan
Federal Minister for Power Division
H.E. Atty. Raphael P. M. Lotilla
Secretary, Department of Energy
H.E. Mr. Saad Sherida Al Kaabi
Minister of State for Energy Affairs
Mr. Eyad Jubran
Climate Change Advisor of the Ministry of Energy
H.E. Supattanapong Punmeechaow
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Energy
H.E. Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber
Minister of Industry and Advanced Technology & UAE Special Envoy for Climate, Group MD & CEO of ADNOC
Mr. Akhmedkhodjaev Azim
First Deputy Minister of Energy of the Republic of Uzbekistan
H.E. Nguyen Hong Dien
Minister of Industry and Trade
H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi
Secretary-General for ASEAN Economic Community
Prof. NISHIMURA Hidetoshi
President of Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA)
Dr. Fatih Birol
Executive Director of International Energy Agency

Intermission:Introduction of Asia Energy Transition Best Practices (18:00〜18:30)

Introduction of various projects by Japanese companies, which contribute to energy transition in Asia and the Middle East.

Part 2: Private Sector Round Table (18:30-20:25)

Session 1: Transition Finance (18:30〜19:15)

Presentation of Asia Transition Finance Guidelines & Technology List and Perspectives on Transition Finance in Asia

Announcement of the guideline for Asia’s transition finance which was developed by ATF study group as well as the list of transition technology will be made. The members of the ATF Study Group range from Asian and global banks to government related organizations.
Mr. NAKAHAMA Fumitaka
Mr. NAKAHAMA Fumitaka
Member of the Board of Directors, Managing Executive Officer, Chief Executive, Global Corporate & Investment Banking, MUFG Bank, Ltd
Prof. NISHIMURA Hidetoshi
Prof. NISHIMURA Hidetoshi
President of Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA)

Introduction of ATF related finance supports

NEXI and JBIC will introduce their financial activities and policies which are in line with Asia Energy Transition Initiative (AETI) and Asia Transition Finance (ATF).
Mr. KURODA Atsuo
Mr. KURODA Atsuo
Chairman and CEO, NEXI
Mr. UCHIDA Makoto
Mr. UCHIDA Makoto
Managing Executive Officer, Global Head of Infrastructure and Environment Finance Group, JBIC

Session 2: MoU Signing Ceremony (19:15〜20:25)

MOUs for projects that contribute to Asian energy transition will be signed.

Remarks by State Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

H.E. Ms. OTA Fusae
H.E. Ms. OTA Fusae
State Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

Part 3: Special Messages (20:25-21:35)

Special Messages ~the importance of transition finance and innovation in Asia~

Special messages about the importance of transition finance in Asia and innovation by world leaders mainly in the financial sector.
Mr. ASAKAWA Masatsugu
Mr. ASAKAWA Masatsugu
Asia Development Bank (ADB)
Mr. Jaideep Khanna
Mr. Jaideep Khanna
Head of Barclays, Asia Pacific
Mr. Nadir Godrej
Mr. Nadir Godrej
Chairman of Godrej Industries Ltd. and Godrej Agrovet Ltd.
“As technology takes a leap, green energy gets very cheap. (…) Technology can save the day, but developed nations can pave the way, atone for their earlier sins by paying for new win-wins. A technology fund is what we need, developing nations can succeed.”
Mr. HAYASHI Nobumitsu
Mr. HAYASHI Nobumitsu
Governor, Japan Bank for International Cooperation
“(…) financial support for the energy transition of each country is essential. Transition finance is one of the most important factors in facilitating the initiative, and it has a significant role to play in accelerating the fair and orderly transition, in line with the Paris Agreement goals.”
Ms. Verena Lim
Ms. Verena Lim
CEO, Macquarie Group Asia
Mr. Bill Winters
Mr. Bill Winters
Group Chief Executive, Standard Chartered
Mr. Eugene Weng Soon WONG
Mr. Eugene Weng Soon WONG
Chief Executive Officer, Sustainable Finance Institute
Dr. Mari E. Pangestu
Dr. Mari E. Pangestu
Managing Director for Development Policy and Partnerships, World Bank

Closing remarks

Director-General for International Policy on Carbon Neutrality


Attendee Registration

The 2nd Asia Green Growth Partnership Ministerial Meeting will be streamed online and available to anyone who completes prior registration. If you wish to join the meeting, please register by pressing the Registration button below.

Press Registration

Past Events

Please click the logo below for the AGGPM 2021.

Please click the logo below for the AGGPM 2022 PUBLIC-PRIVATE FORUM.

By continuing to browse this website, you accept cookies which are used to offer a personalized experience on our website, generate statistics and realize advertising or social network tracking. Find out more about Cookie policy. You can change your cookie settings at any time.